Interviews: Léa & Meret, restoration students


Léa Krief from France

So tell me about yourself Léa…

I am 23 years old, I come from Marseille and I am a 4th year student at the Institut National du Patrimoine in Paris (France), specializing in Paintings. I chose the field of restoration because I needed to study something combining dexterity and intellectual reflection. I couldn’t choose between an artistic and a scientific job, so I found out, when watching a documentary, that restoration corresponded perfectly with my expectations. Doing an internship abroad is part of my Master's degree.

Why did you chose this project?

I wanted a mural painting workshop so I would be able to test my physical abilities working on a long-term project. I was also really interested in Indian culture. Cécile Charpentier needed interns and contacted my school, so I said yes! I had never heard about havelis before. Now when I go to the market, I discover new ones every day. I think that this motivation to highlight this fabulous heritage of the Shekhawati region is remarkable.

Tell me about your other experiences in restoration…

I also worked on several restoration projects such as in the Léon Dierx Museum on the Île de la Réunion in April 2016. I did an internship last February at l’Amphithéâtre d’honneur de l’Ecole Nationale des Beaux Arts in Paris and training workshops at the Château La Motte in Sonzay and Château La Bâtie in Montceaux (France) in 2015 and 2014.


Meret Haudenschild from Switzerland

So tell me about yourself Meret…

I am 23 years old and a 4th year student of the School of Art in Bern (Switzerland), specializing in conservation and restoration. Last summer I finished my Bachelor's Degree with the specialization Painting and wooden Sculpture. I started my Master's Degree in restoration with the same specialization. More precisely, I studied three different topics: Handcrafts, Art History Research and Sciences.

Why did you chose this project?

I was very attracted by Indian culture and I really wanted to take care of its heritage and monuments.

I got Cécile Charpentier's contact details from Mélodie Bonnat. I asked her to award me an internship on a project she was working on in Sikkim, but she didn't know when the project would start again. So Mélodie told me about The Shekhawati Project and it fitted perfectly with my expectations!

What are your other experiences in restoration?

I did another internship at the Museum of History in Basle, at the restoration studio for painting and wooden sculptures, and also a part-time internship at the Museum of History in Bern at the ethnographic collection. I had other experiences in Italy as well, in 2014 and 2015: an internship at a restoration studio specialized in paintings and wooden sculptures in Florence and another one concerning wall painting at the outer wall of a church in Padua.

Recents Posts